Skip to main content

Create companies and set up synchronization

DYCE Time Tracking uses companies and environments. For each company in Business Central, a company can be created in DYCE Time Tracking. For each environment in Business Central, an environment is created in DYCE Time Tracking. The users can freely switch between the companies as long as they are set up in the chosen company.

Create DYCE Time Tracking companies

New companies for DYCE Time Tracking can be created in Business Central. For each company in Business Central one DYCE Time Tracking company can be set up. To connect a company to the synchronization, the DYCE Synchronization Setup Wizard must be run in Business Central. The wizard performs all the necessary steps and prepares the DYCE Time Tracking company. The wizard can be accessed via the DYCE Setup Synchronization page or by the search (Alt+Q).

The user who starts the wizard must be registered as Admin in his Azure Active Directory account.

Once the wizard has been run and the environment for time recording is ready, two things should be done. First, synchronization should be turned on and the appropriate entries in the Job Queue need to be checked. The statuses of the DYCE Sync Task (70921505) and DYCE Task Watchdog (70921489) entries should be Ready. Please check the Earliest Start Date/Time, as well. A Full Sync is the second thing, that always be done to synchronize the existing data from Business Central to the DYCE Web App.

Also after the company in DYCE Time Tracking has been created a Full Sync should always be performed to transfer the existing data from Business Central to the DYCE Web App. The synchronization process will start after one to two minutes after the company is newly created.

Synchronization setup

In the DYCE Synchronization Setup page in Business Central, the synchronization setup can be edited and a Full Sync can be triggered. In the page, the interval between sessions and the number of queries per session can be edited. If Sync Task enabled is changed to NO, the execution of the synchronization via the Job Queue (codeunit 78630) will also be stopped.

In the Unprocessed Tracking Entries field, it is possible to see how much data has not yet been sent to the DYCE Web App. As soon as a record is created in Business Central, it is displayed in this field until it has been sent. If the synchronization is complete, the data will be marked as processed successfully and not be shown anymore.

tip

The state that data is not sent at all should not occur. It is an indication that synchronization is not enabled or a problem has occurred in the Job Queue.

In the Unprocessed Messages field, you can see how much data was received from the DYCE Web App which could not be processed correctly. Clicking on the number will open the affected records. Unprocessed messages can be corrected and processed again.

Sequential Processing

If received data is reprocessed, the order in which the record was updated must be kept. If the records are processed in a different order than they were received the content of the data may be changed.

If the data differs between the DYCE Web App and Business Central, the Full Sync action can be used to synchronize the data.

A complete list of log entries can be accessed in the Logs menu group. In the Statistics info tab you can see when the last heartbeat was sent and received.

Unprocessed Records

In the DYCE Web App, the unprocessed records of the Web App and Business Central can be viewed and edited.